Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is designed to offer assistance with using MLA citation style. The Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style guide is commonly used for avoiding plagiarism in research papers. It is important to cite the information that you use during your research. No matter where you find the information, from a book, journal, magazine, newspaper, interview or the internet, you must give the author credit for using his or her work and ideas. Remember: When in doubt, cite!
For additional assistance, please see a librarian at the reference desk.
Online Citation Management Software
QCC MLA Citation Style Handbook
The Library's MLA Citation Style Handbook is designed as a quick reference for citing sources. A print copy can also be obtained at the reference desk. Contact the Library at any time if you have questions about properly using citation styles.
MLA Color Coded Citation Guide
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: Ready Reference - LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
They Say - I Say by
Call Number: RESERVE PE1431 .G73 2009
"The best-selling new composition book published in this century, in use at more than 1,000 schools, They Say / I Say has essentially defined academic writing, identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ( they say ) to set up one s own argument ( I say ). The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing."
They Say / I Say Templates
This handout provides "templates" for academic writing (adapted from TSIS by Chris Hunter at Grinnell College).