Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYPL Free Resources
The following resources are available for access with a valid NYPL card.
To obtain an NYPL card online:
For IOS https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral/simplye/getting-started/ios
For Android https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral/simplye/getting-started/android
History and Humanities
- African American Historical Serials Collection
Documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. Over 170 titles from 75 different institutions are fully text-searchable.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-text and page images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers, 1690-1922; America's Urban Centers Newspaper Collection, 1807-1880; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; Early American Newspapers, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities.
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com
- Credo Reference
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias
- Humanities International Complete
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index™ (more than 2,200 journals and 2.8 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for nearly 1,200 journals.
Music and Theatre
- Digital Theatre Plus NYPL
- Digital Theatre Plus available through NYPL. Select Digital Theatre Plus from the list on the page. Sign up for an online account by going to SimplyE
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
Contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and more.
- RIPM: Online Archive of Music Periodicals: 1800-1950
Full text archive of specialized music journals, daily newspapers, articles in literary periodicals, theatrical journals and magazines, as well as engravings and lithographs in the illustrated press.
- RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600
Documents the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
- Emerging Markets-Internet Securities (EMIS)
Full-text articles, news, company, industry and market information for emerging market countries around the world.
- Plunkett Research Online
Industry trends, market research and trends organized in 32 industry research centers. Find statistics, industry data, company contacts, organizations, market trends and more.
For more remote resources from NYPL, please visit https://www.nypl.org/about/remote-research-resources