Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library: Temporary Complimentary Access and Freely Accessible Content

More Freely Accessible Textbooks

 

Freely Available Resources  

 

Researchers may share the results of their research through an open access repository specific to their institution or discipline. These often include unpublished preprints, which are shared prior to undergoing the peer review process so other researchers may to see, discuss, and build upon the findings immediately.

Institutional Repositories

CUNY Academic Works: is a service of the CUNY Libraries dedicated to collecting and providing access to the research, scholarship, and creative and pedagogical work of the City University of New York.

Digital Commons Network: browse or search across all institutional repositories hosted be bepress Digital Commons.

OpenDOAR: find the institutional repository for a specific college or university (i.e. MIT) and then search that repository for openly available research. This is especially useful if you know which schools have a strong program in your discipline.

Disciplinary Repositories

AgriXiv: preprints for Agriculture and Allied Sciences

arXiv: a free distribution service and an open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

BioArXiv: is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.

BodoArXiv: open repository for medieval studies.

CORE: a nonprofit repository collecting open access humanities research. Run by the Modern Language Association.

EarthArXiv: preprint service for the Earth Sciences

EcoEvoRxiv: preprint service for ecology, evolution, and conservation

ECSarXiv: preprint service for electrochemistry and solid state science and technology

EdArXiv: preprint server for the Educational Research Community

engrXiv: open archive of engineering

LawArXiv Papers: openly available legal scholarship

MediArXiv: open archive for media, film, and communication studies

MindRxiv: open archive for research on mind and contemplative practices

NutriXiv: preprint service for the nutritional sciences

PaleorXiv Papers: preprint archive for Paleontology

PsyArXiv Preprints: preprint service for the psychological sciences. Maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science

PubMed Central: a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

SocArXiv Papers: open archive of the social sciences

SportRxiv: open access subject repository for Sport, Exercise, Performance, and Health Research

Social Science Research Network: an eLibrary that provides access to papers from researchers in more than 50 disciplines

OER Resources and Platforms

OA Button is a Firefox Browser Extension used to identify open access versions of research articles. If a version is not found, users can log-in to request that the author make one available.

 

 (available at no cost for courses)