Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Display

Library Display

Stamped book cover

Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist ideas in America by Ibram X. Kendi

Print books are not currently available through QCC, so check your local public library for the e-book.

opposing viewpoints page on Black Lives Matter

Database: Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)

The Opposing Viewpoints database provides information about contemporary social issues,and features full text articles, topic overviews, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites. It has information on Black Lives Matters, Police Brutality, Racial Profiling, Racism, and many other related topics. Find it at https://qcc.libguides.com/az.php?a=o

protester holding a sign against police brutaliy

"A Protester Holds a Sign Protesting Police Brutality in the Death of George Floyd." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2020. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link-gale-com.qbcc.ezproxy.cuny.edu/apps/doc/ZECMHP272768495/OVIC?u=cuny_queensboro&sid=OVIC&xid=be17e6fd. Accessed 4 June 2020.

How to be an Antiracist book cover

How to be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi

Print books are not currently available through QCC, so check your local public library for the e-book.

protesters outside 3rd precinct in Minneapolis

"Police and Protesters Stand Outside the 3rd Police Precinct in Minneapolis." Tribune Content Agency Photos, 2020. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link-gale-com.qbcc.ezproxy.cuny.edu/apps/doc/IJABVN952663903/OVIC?u=cuny_queensboro&sid=OVIC&xid=b01e3898. Accessed 4 June 2020.

1619 project title

The 1619 Project at the New York Times Magazine

The 1619 Project examines the legacy of slavery in America. Use your QCC email to register for a free subscription to the New York Times to read the project in full: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/verification/edupass

I'm Still Here book cover

I'm Still Here: Black Dignity in a World Made for Whiteness by Austin Channing Brown

Print books are not currently available through QCC, so check your local public library for the e-book.

protesters in Brooklyn over the killing of George Floyd

"Thousands of people marched through Brooklyn in another day of protests over the killing of George Floyd." Newmark J-School alum Ben Fractenburg, who is now a visual producer for THE CITY, documented recent protests throughout NYC. From https://myemail.constantcontact.com/A-Gift-to-Graduates--.html?soid=1134130875871&aid=eOIjfaxXYrs

White Fragility book cover

White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo

Print books are not currently available through QCC, so check your local public library for the e-book.

American People Series: Die, Die by Faith Ringgold

Ringgold, Faith. American People Series: Die, Die. 1967. Artstor, library-artstor-org.qbcc.ezproxy.cuny.edu/asset/

"Recalling her motivation for making this work, Ringgold has explained, “I became fascinated with the ability of art to document the time, place, and cultural identity of the artist. How could I, as an African American woman artist, document what was happening around me?” Ringgold’s American People Series confronts race relations in the United States in the 1960s; this work, the mural-scale painting that concluded the series, evokes the riots that were then erupting around the country." From MoMA https://www.moma.org/collection/works/199915

So You Want to Talk About Race book cover

So You Want to Talk About Race by Ijeoma Oluo

Print books are not currently available through QCC, so check your local public library for the e-book.

ideas to improve relations between black communities and police

Black Futures Lab. "Leading Ideas to Improve Relations between Black Communities and The Police in The United States in 2018." Statista, Statista Inc., 28 May 2019, https://www-statista-com.qbcc.ezproxy.cuny.edu/statistics/1013139/leading-ideas-improve-relations-black-communities-police-us/

Movie poster for I am Not Your Negro

I am Not Your Negro documentary

Use your QCC email to create an account with Kanopy to watch this Oscar-nominated documentary written by James Baldwin and many others.

Between the World and Me book cover

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Print books are not currently available through QCC, so check your local public library for the e-book.

Black thought and culture database screen

Black Thought and Culture database

A collection of non-fiction writing--including letters and diaries--from over 1,000 American black leaders, activists, writers, and artists.