Music Resources: World Music/Ethnomusicology

Mark Slobin's fieldwork in Afghanistan; includes text, images, sound and video files.

Online resources of the Kodály Center for Music Education

An ethnographic field collection of sound recordings, photographs, drawings, and documents from a variety of European ethnic and English- and Spanish-speaking communities in Northern California. The collection includes 35 hours of folk music recorded in twelve languages.

An index of articles from 630 Canadian music periodicals published from the late 19th century to the present.

Songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected between 1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available.

Sheet music by Canadians or about Canada, selected from the collections of the Library and Archives Canada.

The world's largest collection of Cuban music. The website includes a discography of 20th century Cuban music and a growing digital collection of biographies with recording samples and cultural contexts.

A digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.

An ethnographic field collection of traditional fiddle tunes performed by Henry Reed of Glen Lyn, Virginia and recorded by folklorist Alan Jabbour in 1966-67. The collection includes original sound recordings, fieldnotes, and musical transcriptions with descriptive notes on tune histories.

A directory of ethnographic resources - museums, archives, organizations, events, and websites - related to folklife, anthropology, ethnomusicology, and the humanities.

A multi-media archive for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and North and South America, with particular emphasis on the African Diaspora.

Contains biographical information, guides, publishing information, and song lyrics to the world's largest archival collection of Woody Guthrie materials: audio recordings, correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and more.

An ethnographic field collection made by Juan Bautista Rael in 1940, documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado. In addition to these recordings, the collection includes manuscript materials and publications authored by Rael which provide insight into the rich musical heritage and cultural traditions of this region.

"Presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds."

A Collection of Kashmiri Music, Devotional Songs and Prayers for Kashmiri Pandit Festivals.

The Library of The Jewish Theological Seminary, The Sylvia and Harry Rebell Digital Collections. Digitization funded by Marion Scheuer Sofaer.

Traditional and popular music recorded in Ghana during the 1970s by James Koetting. Koetting's complete archive of field recordings can be heard online, and is accompanied by field notebooks,

The Library of The Jewish Theological Seminary, The Sylvia and Harry Rebell Digital Collections. Digitization funded by the American Society for Jewish Music.

The Library of The Jewish Theological Seminary, The Sylvia and Harry Rebell Digital Collections, Cantorial School Theses.

Discographies, historical background, and some audio recordings of Sephardic music.

Journal of Musical Anthropology of the Mediterranean and Beyond.

Journal of Musical Anthropology of the Mediterranean and Beyond.

An ethnographic field collection: recordings of traditional Omaha music collected by Francis La Flesche and Alice Cunningham Fletcher from 1895-1897, with recordings, photographs, and field notes from the 1983 Omaha harvest celebration pow-wow and the 1985 Hethu'shka Society concert at the Library of Congress. Interviews with members of the Omaha tribe conducted in 1983 and 1999 provide contextual information for the songs and speeches included in the collection.

A collection of audio recordings, transcriptions in Arabic and English, photographs, field notes, and other materials related to the 1000-year-old epic poem, "Epic of the Bani Hilal tribe" (Arabic: Sīrat Banī Hilāl سيرة بني هلال ).

Text and audio material from the research of Milman Parry and Albert B. Lord on South Slavic oral traditions, including epic songs, poetry, stories, and conversation.

A streaming collection of documentary films about American folk or roots cultures. Some films are accompanied by transcriptions, essays, and other contextual material.

This digital collection of Yiddish sheet music came from the collection of Menache Vaxer, a Yiddish writer and Hebraist of Russia and is now part of the Sheet Music Collection at Brown University's John Hay Library. It contains over 850 piano-vocal or instrumental music dating from the 1890’s through the 1940’s. The entire Yiddish sheet music collection contains around 2000 titles.