Music Resources: Film & Television Music & Composers

"The mission of The Academic Film Archive of North America is to acquire, preserve, document, and promote academic film by providing an archive, resource, and forum for continuing scholarly advancement and public exhibition."They also "document and archive historically important films not specifically in the academic genre, including anthropological, ethnographic, and medical subjects. We also engage in special research projects, and are the only institution in the U.S. dedicated to documenting the history of this endangered film genre. We invite you to help us to save films and provide free access to them on the Internet Archive, by nominating a film and making a donation to fund uploading it."

A database of all known dances created by Balanchine, with details of the first performance, major revisions, stagings, and visual records. Also includes a chronology of Balanchine's life and work, a list of roles he performed, a bibliography, filmography, and listing of major archival sources.

On John Barry (1933 - 2011)

A speech presented by Elmer Bernstein at the third annual film and TV music conference at the Directors Guild of America in March, 1998.

On Elmer Bernstein (1922-2004).

On film composer, Chris Boardman.

Resources for getting your music into film and television.

Reviews of modern soundtracks, tributes to past and present composers, information for the serious collector, and auctions for rare soundtracks.

The official site of the Korngold Society, the organization dedicated to preserving his legacy. It includes forums, articles, recording information, and events. Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)

Links to composers of monster movie music.

On film composer, David Raksin (1912-2004).

From the Library of Congress.

"A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future. "