It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the Library of Congress' "vintage Edison phonograph Diamond Discs released from 1913-1927. These recordings feature comic skits, popular music and songs--including well-known favorites from the Civil War and World War I--and a dramatic monologue."
Selected sheet music from UCLA's 450,000 item Archive of Popular American Music (1790-present). As well as more general popular music, a particular strength of the collection is music composed for theatre, film, and television.
This sheet music collection contains around 9,000 items published between 1800 to 1922, with the majority published between 1850 to 1920 in the U.S. and also Europe. Early works by Irving Berlin and Jerome Kern, and by other popular composers: Victor Herbert, Jean Schwartz, Paul Dresser, Ernest R. Ball, Gussie L. Davis, Charles K. Harris, and George M. Cohan form most of the collection. It also includes arrangements of tunes by Bach, Beethoven, Schubert and other famous classical composers. Music written for voice and piano comprises the majority of the collection along with a few instrumental selections.
"A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future."