Civil War Discussion: Internet Sources

This page links to the images in the Library of Congress American Memory Civil War Map collections.

Library of Congress American Memory Selected Photographs of the Civil War contains 1118 photos, including many from Mathew B. Brady.

The Civil War Trust's mission is to preserve the endangered Civil War battlefield, to promote educational programs and heritage tourism initiatives to inform the public of the war's history and the fundamental conflicts that sparked it.

From the National Portrait Gallery. This virtual exhibit gives you access to some special elements of their collection.

This page links to the Library of Congress American Memory collection of original glass plate negatives.

View the archives of correspondence between Adelaide E. Case and Charles N. Tenney from 1861-1863.

This website describes the Ken Burns documentary series, The Civil War.

The National Park Service is responsible for the national Civil War battlefields and cemeteries. This website commemorates the sesquicentennial of the War.

The Institute is a nonprofit organization supporting the study and love of American history through a wide range of programs and resources for students, teachers, scholars, and history enthusiasts. This page from the Institute's website provides podcasts and curriculum models on the Civil War Era.

The website focuses on two communities: one Northern and one Southern. You can see original letters, diaries, newspapers and more left by the communities.

A digital copy of the atlas.

This website provides links to the collections of the US Army Center for Military History Sesquicentennial Commemoration.

This page links to the Union and Confederate Regimental Histories in the Library of Congress collection.