Skip to main content

Multicultural and Diversity Resources, Copied from Hostos Library: Home

Multicultural and Diversity Resources at CUNY

Africana Research Center

The Center's mission is to offer a multidisciplinary curriculum devoted to in-depth study of blacks in Africa, the Caribbean and the U.S. The goal of the center is also to serve as a bridge between Brooklyn College and the diasporan community of NY through research, sponsored programs and as community representatives.

Caribbean Research Center

Medgar Evers College

The Caribbean Research Center is an integral academic component of Medgar Evers College, The City University of New York. It was established in September, 1985 to address the needs and achievements of the rapidly growing Caribbean segment of the New York State population.

Through its research efforts, the Center provides a multidisciplinary understanding of the New York social environment, the diverse social, cultural and economic characteristics of the Caribbean-American community and a comparative analysis of the immigration experience of this community in the context of the wider Caribbean Diasporas in the Americas and Europe. Its work focuses primarily on English-speaking, Haitian, Dominican and South/Central American Caribbean coast communities. It therefore offers a scholarly perspective on the challenges and successes of Caribbean immigrants and their impact on the Diaspora environments in which they live, as well as the Caribbean region as a whole.

The Center conducts its research under the following heads: Social Adjustment, Economic Development, Health, Education, Political Behavior, Youth and Gender Relations. Its work is coordinated through four units: Research and Documentation; Education, Language and Curriculum Development; Publications and Conferences; Global Development and Community Outreach.

Center for Black Literature at Medgar Evers College

The mission of the Center for Black Literature is to expand, broaden, and enrich the public’s knowledge and aesthetic appreciation of the value of Black literature and the literary works produced by people of the African Diaspora. Through a series of programs that build an audience for the reading, discussion, and critical analysis of contemporary Black literature and that serve as a forum for the research and study of Black literature, the Center convenes and supports various literary programs and events such as author readings and signings, conferences, panel discussions, symposia, and writing workshops. Its intellectual approach to programs and activities is an integrative one that focuses on the ways in which the literary arts and cultural values inform the work of Black writers and the ways in which these works influence the culture at large.

Through its collaborations with public schools and organizations such as the Brooklyn Public Library, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the Brooklyn Literary Council, the Center for Black Literature serves as a vehicle for nurturing and cultivating the critical reading and writing habits of a cross-generation of readers and writers and provides university, community and public institutions with various literary programs. Funding and support for Center programs have been provided by the public and private sector and include organizations such as the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York Council for the Humanities, Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation, the New-York Historical Society, Poets & Writers, and the Brooklyn Community Foundation, as well as support from local and state elected officials.

Institute for Research on the African Diaspora in the Americas and the Caribbean (IRADAC)

CUNY Graduate Center


The Institute for Research on the African Diaspora in the Americas and the Caribbean (IRADAC) was founded to address the African presence in the Americas through scholarly research and public programs for the betterment of the public as well as the academic community. The institute's mission is to foster understanding and critical interpretation of the history, development, conditions, status and cultures of the diverse peoples of African descent living in the various societies of the Western Hemisphere. The Institute's primary focus on the black experience in Canada and the United States, Central and South America, and the Caribbean does not preclude any region of the African Diaspora from the scope of its multidisciplinary scholarship and public programs. As a component of our mission, IRADAC will develop and facilitate the creation of a community of independent scholars at the Graduate Center interested in the study of the African Diaspora. In addition, the Institute will inform and influence the formulation of public and academic policy, particularly with respect to education, through its research initiatives, and public programs. - See more at: http://www.gc.cuny.edu/Page-Elements/Academics-Research-Centers-Initiatives/Centers-and-Institutes/Institute-for-Research-on-the-African-Diaspora-in-the-Americas-the-Caribbean-(IRADAC)#sthash.YvbmjHb9.dpuf

The Center for Diopian Inquiry and Research on Education as Culture Transmission

Medgar Evers College

Founded 1998

About Center: The DIRECT Center is named after Cheikh Anta Diop, the Senegalese scholar. The mission is to contribute to recovering, reclaiming and reconstructing the "profound cultural unity still alive beneath the deceptive appearance of cultural heterogeneity" among African people on the African continent and throughout the African Diaspora.


The DuBois Bunche Center for Public Policy

Medgar Evers College

Founded 1991

The DuBois Bunche Center (DBC) comprises of scholar activists and advocates dedicated to forging solutions to the challenges confronting people of color living within urban communities in the United States and throughout the African Diaspora. DBC produces research, formulates policies, sponsors conferences and produces public affairs media programming that advances economic and social justice.

Asian-American Center

The Asian/American Center at Queens College of the City University of NY was founded in 1987 and is dedicated to the development of community-oriented reserach to analyze the multicultural diaspora exprience of Asians in North, Central, South America and the Caribbean.

Asian American/ Asian Research Institute

Latin American Writers Institute

The Latin American Writers Institute (LAWI) was founded by Professor Isaac Goldemberg at The City College of New York in 1987. Housed at Hostos Community College since 1992, LAWI is an organization devoted to promoting Latin American and Latino literature in the United States. LAWI presents the work of Latino writers to different audiences, by publishing books under its imprint The Latino Press; by editing two bilingual journals, Brújula/Compass and Hostos Review/Revista Hostosiana; by sponsoring readings and conferences; by offering writing workshops; by sponsoring the Latino Literature Prize in Poetry and Fiction, and by organizing the “LibroFest Latino BookFest”.

LAWI also functions as a clearing house on Latino and Latin American literature. Its services are available to professors, journalists, reviewers, translators, editors, and publishers who are interested in writers for readings, conferences, and workshops and who might need skilled Latino writers for editing, teaching, translation, and writing projects.

In keeping with its goal of increasing intercultural understanding, LAWI's activities are designed for a multiethnic audience and seek to recognize and encourage cultural diversity in its membership and in all of its programs.

Professor Isaac Goldemberg, Director
igoldemberg@hostos.cuny.edu
Room: C - 411I
Telephone: (718) 518-6589/6680

Center for Latin American, Caribbean and Latino Studies

The Center for Latin American, Caribbean & Latino Studies (CLACLS) promotes the study and understanding of Latin American and Caribbean cultures and the communities established in the United States, with a special focus on New York City, by peoples from this vast and extraordinarily diverse region. CLACLS researches and publishes innovative data-based studies focused upon New York City’s and the nation’s Latino communities, such as CLACLS' flagship Latino Data Project. The Latino Data Project provides the public with insights on various aspects of the New York City Latino experience. The center has a strong commitment to help advance the study of Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latinos in the U.S. in the Graduate Center's doctoral programs, and to provide opportunities for Latino students at the Ph.D. level.

Centro de Estudios Puertorriquenos

Centro is a research institute that is dedicated to the study and interpretation of the Puerto Rican experience in the United States and that produces and disseminates relevant interdisciplinary research. Centro also collects preserves and provides access to library resources documenting Puerto Rican history and culture. We seek to link scholarship to social action and policy debates and to contribute to the betterment of our community and the enrichment of Puerto Rican studies.

Centro is dedicated to the comprehensive collection of data, graphic art, and library and archival resources that document the history and legacy of Puerto Ricans in the United States, and to the study and analysis of critical and relevant social problems and conditions that affect this culturally diverse nation for purposes of promoting effective community and public sector interventions. We also aim to support the intellectual and educational advancement of young scholars.

We are committed to supporting the development of programs, curricula, and pedagogies that motivate Hunter, CUNY, and other students, as well as teachers, to learn, provide the necessary supports for success, and encourage a sense of service toward others. We seek to achieve excellence in all of our programs and to affect positively the well-being of Puerto Ricans and other diasporic peoples in the United States.

Our organization values collaborations with Latinos, Caribbean, and other populations sharing similar social conditions and challenges. We regard such collaborations as an essential ingredient for promoting solidarity and advancement for all people.

Puerto Rican and Latino Studies at Brooklyn College

The Department of Puerto Rican and Latino Studies provides students with the critical skills to navigate a diverse and globally interdependent world through the study of Latino arts, culture, history, literature and society. You will have the opportunity to participate in internships and research at the Brooklyn College Center for Latino Studies, the Center for Religion in Society and Culture, and the CUNY Center for Puerto Rican Studies. The knowledge and experiences you gain here will position you for further education in our graduate program or for careers in government, public and private schools and universities, and the public, private and nonprofit sectors.


 

Dominican Institute

City College

Founded in 1992 and housed at The City College of New York, the Dominican Studies Institute of the City University of New York (CUNY DSI) is the nation's first university-based research institute devoted to the study of people of Dominican descent in the United States and other parts of the world. CUNY DSI's mission is to produce and disseminate research and scholarship about Dominicans, and about the Dominican Republic. CUNY DSI is the locus for a community of scholars, including doctoral fellows, in the field of Dominican Studies and sponsors multidisciplinary research projects.

The Institute houses the Dominican Archives and the Dominican Library, the first and only institutions in the United States collecting primary and secondary source material about people of Dominican descent. In 2010, the Institute opened its Archives and Library facility to art exhibitions, thus becoming the first exhibit space in New York City devoted exclusively to work by and about people of Dominican descent.  The Institute organizes lectures, conferences, and exhibitions that are open to the public.

The Institute is headed by renowned sociologist and public intellectual Ramona Hernández, Ph.D., author of pioneering texts in the areas of migration, labor, and Dominican studies. She is a trustee of the Sociological Initiatives Foundation.

 

John D. Calandra Italian American Institute

Italian Americans constitute the largest European ancestral group in New York City, New York State, and at CUNY. The Institute, founded in 1979 and reconstituted in 1995, was the first of its kind devoted to documenting and preserving the Italian American experience. The goals of the institute—which was named in memory of a New York state senator who was a tireless champion of social justice—include heightening awareness, fostering higher education, and conducting research to deepen understanding of Italian Americans’ culture and heritage.

Among its offerings are a speakers bureau, conferences, seminars, exhibits, and symposia; a research library, archives, and a clearing house for research; lectures by Calandra faculty fellows and other notables; and a website, newsletter, and social sciences journal. The institute’s cable program “Italics” celebrated its 20th anniversary in fall 2008 on CUNY TV (Channel 75). Closely allied with the interdisciplinary Italian American studies minor at QC, the institute sponsors career counseling for CUNY students and the community. Through the institute’s Columbus CUNY/Italy Exchange Program, students may study at seven universities in Italy.

Center for Italian American Studies

The center was established to stimulate interest in Italian American life and explore the social and political attitudes and behavior patterns of Italian Americans. Graduate and undergraduate students may participate in the center’s research projects. The center sponsors conferences and cultural events. Counseling and training workshops are among the services offered.

Center for Jewish Studies

The Center for Jewish Studies is committed to fostering research and special projects in the many disciplines comprising Jewish Studies. It aims to serve the more than 80 faculty scholars across CUNY who are in the field of Jewish Studies or working in areas related to Jewish Studies by providing opportunities for communication, gatherings, and cooperative programs and projects. The Center for Jewish Studies sponsors publications, public lectures, teacher training seminars, research and oral history projects that explore a wide range of historical and contemporary Jewish issues. From time to time, the Center for Jewish Studies also hosts scholarly gatherings that are conducted in cooperation with national and international cultural and academic institutions. The Center offers fellowships and travelling fellowships for graduate students pursuing research in Jewish Studies - See more at: http://www.gc.cuny.edu/Degrees-Research/Centers-Institutes#sthash.u8EMOv48.dpuf

Institute for Irish-American Studies

Lehman College

The Institute serves as a clearinghouse for research opportunities in Irish-American Studies for students, staff, and faculty on all of the campuses of the City University of New York.

Jewish Resource Center

Baruch College

Formally established in May 1998, the Jewish Resource Center (JRC) serves as the Jewish address of Baruch College. It is called a "Resource Center" rather than the customary Jewish Studies center or program because of its linkage to Lewis Weston's Jewish Resource Fund which served as the initial gift to endow the Center.

 

Center for Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies

 

Queens College

Queens College’s 1,500 students of Greek ancestry—more than at any other American university—plus its location near the country’s largest Greek community invigorate the Center for Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies. Its mission is to initiate, support, and coordinate the teaching of Byzantine and Modern Greek subjects at QC; to promote Byzantine and Neo-Hellenic scholarship and publications; and to relate research and teaching to the needs of the Greek community of the borough of Queens and beyond. The center’s logo is based on a dictum of the ancient Greek orator Isokrates—“Greeks are those who partake in our culture”—and exemplifies the center’s spirit of an enlightened Hellenism.

Since the center’s founding in 1974, thousands of students have taken part in its programs. The center’s interdisciplinary BA in Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies is unique in the United States. Its scholarly publications, among them the Journal of Modern Hellenism, are important in understanding the problems confronting Greece and the Greek diaspora. The center provides library support to QC’s 6,000 volumes illuminating Hellenism. Each year during the center’s Pascha (Greek Easter) celebrations, thousands partake of Greek food, wine, music, and dancing. Other activities include conferences, lectures, exhibits, and seminars. Community and campus alike benefit from the center’s commitment to preserving and promoting Greek language, history, institutions, and culture from Byzantium to modern time.
 

Faculty, students and others who are interested in the Center's programs and the Greek world in general, can find a valuable academic resource in several other Departments and programs of Queens College. Among others, they offer courses, seminars, lectures and exhibits on themes related to the Greek world and its regional and broader environment. References to these resources found under Related Links. ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies (CLAGS)

CUNY Grad Center

The Center for LGBTQ Studies (CLAGS) was founded in 1991 as the first university-based research center in the United States dedicated to the study of historical, cultural, and political issues of vital concern to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals and communities. By sponsoring public programs and conferences, offering fellowships to individual scholars, and functioning as an indispensable conduit of information, CLAGS serves as a national center for the promotion of scholarship that fosters social change.

Middle East and Middle Eastern American Center - CUNY Graduate Center

Since 2001, the Middle East and Middle Eastern American Center (MEMEAC) at The Graduate Center, CUNY, has been promoting the study of the Middle East and Middle Eastern Americans by sponsoring lectures, seminars, and conferences, serving as a resource for both the CUNY community and the public at large, engaging in outreach and conducting research. The Center’s base in the heart of mid-Manhattan (across from the Empire State Building) is easily accessible to visitors from the tri-state metropolitan region. With the support of CUNY’s outstanding faculty, MEMEAC aims to continue the leadership to strengthen and expand Middle East Studies at CUNY.

The Center is currently hosting the International Journal of Middle East Studies, the leading journal in the field. It brings together a critical mass of more than 70 affiliated faculty members working in the Middle East and its diaspora across many disciplines throughout the CUNY system. The Center is a magnet for doctoral students in Anthropology, Art History, History, Music, Political Science, Sociology, and other disciplines. With growing interest in the Greater Middle East, the Center launched a Master’s Program in Middle Eastern Studies in 2008. That program now has an enrollment of over 40 students, with its first graduates finding jobs at human rights organizations, Middle East Centers, higher education administration, in language teaching, as well as matriculating at Ph.D. programs, law, or other professional schools.

With its emphasis on the cultural and social dimensions of the region and its attention to the diaspora experience, MEMEAC has built a large public following for its programming. It regularly sponsors talks, panels, concerts, performances, film, and other outreach activities in the evenings. MEMEAC tries to link students, faculty, and the general public with the many Middle Eastern resources in the Metropolitan region. In as much it has benefitted from being in the hub, geographically, academically, and socially, the Center’s goal has been to give back to the large and multi-diverse population.

Archaeological Research Center

Brooklyn College

Founded 1972

The center supports excavations in the Balkans, the Mediterranean area, and the Middle East on sites dating from early Neolithic to medieval times. The center also supports and directs excavations in New York. Evidence is recovered and studied from these and other digs in which members participate. The center publishes its findings.

 

Computer Center For Visually Impaired People

The mission of the CCVIP is to increase the freedom, independence, and productivity of people who are blind or visually impaired through the power of digital technology. We accomplish this through training, applied research, product testing and development, and community awareness initiatives.

 

Services for Students with Disabilities

Queensborough Community College is committed to providing opportunity and access to individuals with disabilities in all programs offered by the college.

The philosophy and mission of Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD) is “to facilitate the academic success of students with disabilities through the provision of appropriate educational supports and settings while nurturing personal development.” This commitment is consistent with the guidelines set forth by the Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, and the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-325).

Center for Women's Development

The mission of the Center for Women’s Development (CWD) is to promote the self-actualization of women in pursuit of higher education by providing the direct services and programs of specialized support they need.
Our goals are to:

  • Offer specialized services that support personal development.
  • Assist students in addressing issues affecting self-actualization and quality of life.
  • Actively engage the College, university and community in proactively addressing issues faced by women students.
  • Promote equal access to higher education through institutionalized support including: counseling, advocacy, referrals, and development and implementation of education forums and events.

All are Welcome!
Although its focus is women, the Center is open to ALL with regard to gender, race, ethnicity, religion or sexual orientation.
 

Equity Studies Research Center

Queens College

Founded 005

The Center seeks to promote interest in math and science careers for young women from urban environments.

NOTE: Link goes to Queen College Homepage

 


Center for the Study of Women & Society

CUNY Graduate Center

Since 1977, the Center for the Study of Women and Society has promoted interdisciplinary feminist scholarship. The focus of the center’s research agenda is the study of the intersections of gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, class, and nation in societies around the world.

The Center co-sponsors with the Women's Studies Certificate Program intellectual exchange symposia and lectures--- among scholars within CUNY as well as with visiting scholars. The Center also seeks to collaborate with grassroots and professional organizations.
 

Male Development and Empowerment Center

Medgar Evers College

Founded 2001

GOALS

  • To provide and connect male students to various systems of support that will lead to continuous satisfactory progress towards degree completion.
  • To contribute to the improvement of enrollment and graduation rates of under -represented populations, particularly male students.
  • To participate in coordinated efforts to recruit students to Medgar Evers College from various areas of the community.
  • To identify, promote, raise and advocate for issues that directly impact male students.
  • To use credible research to support the academic and social needs of male undergraduate students
  • To develop & increase campus and community collaborations
  • To build broad public support for MDEC programs & services

Center for Diversity and Multicultural Studies 

Brooklyn College

Founded 1996

The center promotes and supports a dynamic multicultural academic environment. Policy initiatives and curriculum and faculty development are promoted through the Multicultural Studies Council and the Multicultural Assembly; students are empowered through participation in the Multicultural Action Committee and community-service learning programs.

CUNY's Diversity Resources homepage

A campus environment or culture can be a very difficult to define entity. At once amorphous and concrete, there is no denying the powerful impact culture plays in the comfort, success or failure of both people and groups. Given this understanding and its diverse population, CUNY will continue to recognize the need to both support existing initiatives that enhance the culture of the University for all its constituencies and launch new efforts to ensure all can find a comfort zone in the CUNY environment.

 

The Center on Equality, Pluralism & Policy

Baruch College

This center offers access to in-depth research on social justice in our society. It examines economic and social inequality at the federal, state and local levels by examining barriers that we face in a racially, ethnically, and culturally-diverse society. As a student of public policy, you are encouraged to submit your ideas and research pertaining to the Center.

Center for the Study of Brooklyn

Brooklyn College

The Center, founded in February 2005, is an academic research center devoted exclusively to the study of public policy in Brooklyn. The purpose is to serve Brooklyn by giving it a much needed voice -- backed by research -- in the arena of public policy.

Ralph Bunche Institute for International Studies

CUNY Graduate Center

Founded 1973

The Ralph Bunche Institute for International Studies at The Graduate Center, City University of New York, engages in research, graduate training, and public education in the fields of international studies and contemporary global problem-solving. Originally founded in 1973 as the Ralph Bunche Institute on the United Nations in honor of the Nobel Prize-winning diplomat and scholar, it was renamed in 2001 and given a broader interdisciplinary mandate to support and strengthen international studies at The Graduate Center. The Ralph Bunche Institute for International Studies aims to provide a congenial setting for activities initiated by faculty, students, and visiting scholars with a wide variety of research interests in international topics.

Located minutes from UN headquarters in mid-town Manhattan, the institute draws not only on the distinguished faculty of The City University of New York and other universities and colleges in the metropolitan area and worldwide, but also on analysts, policymakers, and practitioners. The Institute houses a number of projects that seek to improve the scholarly and public understanding of international affairs and to contribute to solving international problems. It also hosts visiting scholars and graduate students from around the world who wish to take advantage of the institute’s unusual access to international organizations and expertise.

 

Michael Harrington Center for Democratic Values and Social Change

Queens College

Founded 1990

In his seminal 1962 book The Other America, Michael Harrington exposed the prevalence of poverty amidst America’s affluence, and was influential in inspiring that decade’s War on Poverty. The Center was formed at Queens College to honor his lifelong commitment to creating a just society. A distinguished professor of political science, Harrington taught at QC from 1972 until his death in 1989.

 

Carrying on his legacy of activism and education, the Harrington Center promotes public discourse about social issues, advocates for social change, and partners with others to build a more equitable society. As an outreach-oriented social science institute, the center sponsors community dialogues, conferences, colloquia, and workshops. Its research covers such topics as public health, educational equity, drug policy, conflict resolution, and poverty.

Harlem Stage/Aaron Davis Hall

The City College of New York

Since 1979, Harlem Stage/Aaron Davis Hall, Inc. (Harlem Stage) has been one of the nation’s leading organizations devoted to the creation and development of new works by performing artists of color; provides a valuable forum for culturally diverse artists, community-based performing arts organizations and regionally-significant arts groups and institutes important education programs for the metropolitan area.

Research Institute for the Study of Language in Urban Society (RISLUS)

CUNY Graduate Center

Founded 2000

The Institute conducts research on language, literacy, and bilingualism and their development and acquisition in urban societies. The central mission of RISLUS is to investigate those research questions that are at the nexus of language and the urban environment, especially in New York City. Basic and applied research is conducted:

• on structural questions, approached from a variety of theoretical viewpoints, associated with the language of urban dwellers, especially but not limited to those who are bilingual or bidialectal;
• on social, and educational issues associated with the language of urban dwellers, with special emphasis on bilingual and bidialectal communities and their language-related strengths and needs;
• on the language and language-learning profile of students at the elementary, secondary and college levels, especially at CUNY and in the NYC public schools, and on the progress of these students in the acquisition of English as well as in the strengthening and development of their native languages and other modern languages;
• on the acquisition of academic literacy skills in English by all students, but especially by students whose native base is another language or another variety of English;
• on the acquisition of academic literacy skills in the home languages of emergent bilinguals, leading to full bilingualism built on knowledge and skill in both the home language and English;
• on ways to make language instruction at the NYC public schools and at CUNY, in both ESL and modern languages, a model for public schools and universities throughout the country.

Center for Urban Education Policy at CUNY Graduate Center

The Center for Urban Education Policy was organized to provide a mechanism for systematic study and analysis of policy issues confronting urban education.

Joseph S. Murphy Institute for Worker Education and Labor Studies

CUNY School of Professional Studies

Founded 2005

Part of the School of Professional Studies. Promotes worker education. Develops certificate programs and work with colleges to expand educational opportunities for union members within CUNY. Encompasses the Labor Resource Center (est. 1992) formerly at Queens College, which provides labor related resources and educational services to academia, the public, and the labor community.

John F. Kennedy, Jr. Institute for Worker Education

CUNY School of Professional Studies

Founded 2000

Supports workforce development initiatives in health, education and human services fields; develops collaborative, career-ladder, worker education programs including undergraduate and graduate certificates; conducts research related to the frontline workforce; sponsors demonstration projects to improve education and employment outcomes of underserved populations.

Labor Resource Center

Queens College

The Queens College Labor Resource Center is dedicated to revitalizing a strong and democratic labor movement and supporting labor’s efforts to create a more just and equitable society. The Center brings together union activists, academics, and community leaders to focus on those issues and policies that impact on workers and their communities. It is also dedicated to enabling rank-and-file workers to play more active and informed roles in their unions, workplaces, and communities. To fulfill its mission, the Center conducts research, offers leadership development programs, holds monthly forums, organizes national conferences, publishes educational material, develops public education programs, and provides a number of venues for dialogue and debate on the future of the labor movement.

Center on Race, Crime and Justice

John Jay College

The Center is a multifaceted multidisciplinary entity for exploring critical issues at the intersection of race / ethnicity, crime and justice. Through a visiting scholars program, community partnerships and collaborative efforts within the College and across the University, Center participants conduct funded research aimed at answering several of the “big questions” that plague our understanding of crime and justice in a diverse society.

The findings from these research efforts are disseminated through Center sponsored colloquia and workshops designed to help faculty incorporate this important information within their course content. Undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral student researchers play a vital role in the Center’s functioning. Publication of research findings and reports is ongoing.

Center for Diversity in the Legal Profession

CUNY School of Law

The main purpose of the Center is to be a clearinghouse for data on the participation of people of color in the law, as well as to conduct original research, according to the Center's director, Professor Pamela Edwards. The Center publishes an e-newsletter on issues that affect the careers of people of color in the law. In addition, the Center will collaborate with other organizations that have activities designed to increase participation in the legal profession by people of color as well as by members of other communities historically under-represented in the legal profession.

In future years, the Center will sponsor workshops to help people in targeted demographic groups who have indicated an interest in entering the legal profession but have faced barriers to doing so.

"The time is ripe for this, and I'm so proud to be working on such an exciting new initiative that will benefit not only CUNY Law and the legal profession, but also communities of color and other under-served communities," Edwards said.

Center for International Human Rights

John Jay College

The Center for International Human Rights (CIHR) was established in 2001 with a mandate to study the main challenges to the promotion and protection of internationally recognized human rights norms; analyze and assess the intersections between human rights violations and international crimes; investigate genocide historically and in the contemporary world; and devise educational programs aimed at increasing public awareness of these norms. 

The Center at John Jay College focuses on a critical examination of long-standing and emerging issues on the human rights agenda, as well as on equipping our students with the necessary background and experience to pursue their interests in human rights scholarship and advocacy. CIHR regularly conducts research workshops, seminars (including panel discussions and lectures) and develops outreach programs. The workshops focus on cutting edge issues and bring together experts in the field to present and discuss their work and usually result in publications as books, or special issues in scholarly journals.  In addition, the Center is consistently looking for innovative outreach/awareness activities to actively involve the college community, as well as the broader public,

Center for Law and Social Justice - Medgar Evers College

The mission of the Center for Law and Social Justice is to provide quality legal advocacy, training, and research on racial justice issues affecting people of African descent, and persons who are under-served, under-represented and otherwise disenfranchised. Using a grass-roots approach, the Center for Law and Social Justice (CLSJ) works in partnership with and on behalf of community organizations and other civil society groups that promote human, civil and international rights. CLSJ’s advocacy projects and litigation include: a) voting rights; b) equity in public education; c) immigration; d) police-related harassment and abuse; e) discrimination issues; and, g) human rights violations in the United States. As a result of its unique synthesis of research, public policy advocacy and litigation, the Center for Law and Social Justice is a focal point for progressive activity that results in creative, action-oriented solutions and social change that are both cogent and timely.

Loading ...

Online Reference Sources on Diversity

Faculty Experts; Diversity; Affirmative Action; and Multicultural Links at CUNY

CUNY's Diversity Resources homepage

A campus environment or culture can be a very difficult to define entity. At once amorphous and concrete, there is no denying the powerful impact culture plays in the comfort, success or failure of both people and groups. Given this understanding and its diverse population, CUNY will continue to recognize the need to both support existing initiatives that enhance the culture of the University for all its constituencies and launch new efforts to ensure all can find a comfort zone in the CUNY environment.

Loading ...

Databases and Internet Resources

Black Thought and Culture

This is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive

This is a digital archive in four series devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition is a scholarly collection of approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source documents focusing on the abolitionist movement and the conflicts within it, the anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period, and the debates on the subject of colonialism. The collection assembles a wide variety of materials - more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections. Varied sources — from well-known journals to private papers, monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts and periodicals - explore the economic, gender, legal, religious, and government issues surrounding the slavery debate.

Asian American/ Asian Research Institute

Loading ...

DVD and Streaming Media

Loading ...

Multicultural Book Club - the Many Voices of America

Loading ...

Other Resources