EN102 Prof. Lam - Comic Books and Graphic Novels: Comics Scholarship: Research and Resources

This one-volume reference contains over 65 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels, including genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.

This one-volume reference contains over 65 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels, including genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.

This three-volume set contains 215 essays covering graphic novels and core comics series, focusing on the independents and underground genre, that form today's "canon" for academic coursework and library collections.

Clubs aren't just for kids anymore. Since the earliest days of human culture, people have banded together to pass on traditions, climb up the social ladder, and sometimes just avoid being excluded themselves. Some of today's groups have been around for centuries and others have developed in just the past few decades. But members of these clubs walk, talk, and live all around us; we just don't always know it. Members Only provides a glimpse into the underground cults people love, fear, and cannot resist. Delving into different groups like Opus Dei, the Freemasons, and the Skull and Bones, the book uncovers the how, what, when, where, and why of these mysterious groups. Members Only reveals the shared beliefs and actions of these organizations so that we, too, can access secret worlds we didn't even know were there.

Focusing on such acclaimed examples asMaus,Persepolis, andWatchmen, these essays successfully highlight the ways that graphic novelists and literary cartoonists have incorporated history, experience, and autobiography into their work. The result is a collection that is both challenging and innovative.

This work provides an extensive guide for students, fans, and collectors of Marvel Comics. Focusing on Marvel's mainstream comics, the author provides a detailed description of each comic along with a bibliographic citation listing the publication's title, writers/artists, publisher, ISBN (if available), and a plot synopsis. One appendix provides a comprehensive alphabetical index of Marvel and Marvel-related publications to 2005, while two other appendices provide selected lists of Marvel-related game books and unpublished Marvel titles.

"The essays in this collection discuss how comics and graphic narratives can be useful primary texts and learning tools in college and university classes across different disciplines. There are six sections: American Studies, Ethnic Studies, Women's and Gender Studies, Cultural Studies, Genre Studies, and Composition, Rhetoric and Communication. With a combination of practical and theoretical investigations, the book brings together discussions among teacher-scholars to advance the scholarship on teaching comics and graphic narratives--and provides scholars with useful references, critical approaches, and particular case studies."--Amazon