Library Guides: Nursing and Health Sciences Resources: Finding Books

Selected Books

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
Call Number: Ready Reference RM 301.12 .V35 2023
ISBN: 9781719646406
Publication Date: 2022-05-18
SAFETY FIRST WITH 'CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks your one-year, FREE 1-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs, Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius.
Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth
Call Number: Ref. RM301.12 S55 2020
ISBN: 9780323661362
Publication Date: 2019-04-25
Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text and on the free app - including 20-30 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA. Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects of 50 common drug classes.
Fundamentals Success: a Q & A Review Applying Critical Thinking by Patricia M. Nugent; Barbara A. Vitale
Call Number: Stacks RT55 .N77 2015
ISBN: 9780803619210
Publication Date: 2015
Here is the only question-and-answer review book for fundamentals. More than 1,475 classroom-tested, NCLEX-style questions that cover an entire nursing fundamentals course.
Kozier and Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing by Audrey T. Berman; Shirlee Snyder; Barbara J. Kozier; Glenora Erb
Call Number: RT41 .F8813 2016 (Reserve)
ISBN: 9780138024611
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
KOZIER & ERB'S FUNDAMENTALS OF NURSING, 9/e&; thoroughly addresses the key concepts of contemporary professional nursing, helping nurses grow and evolve to meet the demands of a dramatically changing health care system.
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Elizabeth Silvestri
Call Number: Ready Ref. RT 55 .S28 2020
ISBN: 9780323358415
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Get the tools and skills you need to prepare for the NCLEX®! Often called the ''the best NCLEX® exam review book ever,'' Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 8th Edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the most recent test plan. This new edition includes 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. A companion Evolve website includes thousands of questions that allow you to decide how you want to practice!
Gahart's 2019 Intravenous Medications by Betty L. Gahart; Adrienne R. Nazareno; Meghan Q. Ortega
Call Number: Ready Ref. RM 170 .J585 2019
ISBN: 9780323612722
Publication Date: 2018-05-14
Equip yourself to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs with the #1 IV drug handbook on the market! Now in its 35th edition, Gahart's 2019 Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals continues to be the most proven resource for comprehensive drug coverage, unparalleled accuracy, and an intuitive quick-access format. In addition to updating drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all existing IV drugs, this new 35th edition includes over a dozen new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA.
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination by HESI
Call Number: Ready Reference RT 55 .E96 2020
ISBN: 9780323582452
Publication Date: 2019-09-19
Get ready to pass both the HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-RN® exam! HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 6th Edition provides a complete, all-in-one review of the information you need to know. Along the way, valuable tips from HESI help you apply principles of clinical decision-making and critical thinking. With more than 900 practice questions in both study and exam formats, the Evolve companion website lets you practice test-taking in the same electronic format you will experience on your nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-RN exam. Over 900 NCLEX practice questions on the Evolve website include alternate item formats, simulating the experience of taking the nursing school exit exam and the NCLEX-RN exam.
Brunner and Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing by Janice L. Hinkle; Kerry H. Cheever; Kristen Overbaugh
ISBN: 9781975161033
Publication Date: 2021-10-05
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing (Single Volume),15th Edition. Book delivers the most comprehensive resource available for nursing students in the medical-surgical course. This bestselling text is designed for the way students like to learn, combining a highly readable approach with engaging case studies and learning tools to help students explore essential patient care practices in real-world terms and gain a more practical understanding of how they'll apply what they've learned in practice. Trusted by instructors, students, and practicing nurses for nearly 60 years, this landmark resource has been comprehensively updated for the 15th Edition to reflect the latest research, evidence-based practices, settings, issues, ethical challenges, and concerns of today's healthcare practice.

Catalog Tutorials

Searching for Books

There are several options for searching for print and electronic books using the following options:

QCC Library Catalog Quick Search -

Search the CUNY+ Online Catalog to find books, multimedia materials, and other resources.

Ovid Nursing Books - A collection of 40 online nursing and health related books in subject areas such as orthopedics, pediatrics, neurology, surgery, psychology, oncology, radiology, microbiology, and obstetrics.

ebrary - Over 100 nursing books are available from ebrary via this link. You may also search ebrary for books on other topics of interest as well.

CLICS - CUNY Libraries Intra Campus Delivery Services (CLICS) allows CUNY students, faculty and staff to request circulating books and cd’s from the collections of other CUNY libraries. These deliveries will be taken to the QCC Library per your request.

Interlibrary Loan - Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service whereby QCC students, faculty, and staff may obtain library materials that are not owned by the Kurt R. Schmeller Library or at any other CUNY library.

Worldcat - World catalog (Worldcat) is an international catalog that QCC students, faculty, and staff to search for any book and identify its location in any library in the world.

Netlibrary - NetLibrary provides access to your library’s eContent collection. eContent is the digital version of books, journals, and database content. You can access your library’s eContent 24 hours a days, seven days a week. Please note that you must create an account on campus in order to use away from campus.

Finding Books by Topic

Search using ONESEARCH for books,articles, etc.

Subject Guide

Connie Williams

Email Me

Subjects: Academies, Health, Physical Education, & Dance, Nursing & Health Sciences