You are eligible for an NYPL card if you are a student at QCC, which will allow you to take out materials and access ebooks and databases online.
There are several ways to obtain a NYPL card:
1. Go to the NYPL branch located closest to you
2. Order an NYPL card from home by going to https://www.nypl.org/library-card or during COVID-19 through https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral/simplye/getting-started
The following resources are available for access with a valid NYPL card.
To obtain an NYPL card online:
Visit https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral/simplye/getting-started
For IOS https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral/simplye/getting-started/ios
For Android https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral/simplye/getting-started/android
History and Humanities
Documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. Over 170 titles from 75 different institutions are fully text-searchable.
Searchable full-text and page images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers, 1690-1922; America's Urban Centers Newspaper Collection, 1807-1880; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; Early American Newspapers, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities.
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index™ (more than 2,200 journals and 2.8 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for nearly 1,200 journals.
Music and Theatre
Contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and more.
Full text archive of specialized music journals, daily newspapers, articles in literary periodicals, theatrical journals and magazines, as well as engravings and lithographs in the illustrated press.
Documents the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
Business
Full-text articles, news, company, industry and market information for emerging market countries around the world.
Industry trends, market research and trends organized in 32 industry research centers. Find statistics, industry data, company contacts, organizations, market trends and more.
For more remote resources from NYPL, please visit https://www.nypl.org/about/remote-research-resources