AFI is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media.
Box Office Mojo is an online movie publication and box office reporting service.
The BFI promotes understanding and appreciation of Britain's film and television heritage and culture.
FIAF (Fédération Internationale des Archives du Film or International Federation of Film Archives) offes the Glossary of Filmographic Terms, a free, online multilingual dictionary
IMDb is an online database of information related to films, television programs, home videos and video games, and internet streams, including cast, production crew and personnel biographies, plot summaries, trivia, and fan reviews and ratings.
The Film Analysis Guide was developed to meet the needs of faculty and students at Yale who are interested in becoming familiar with the vocabulary of film studies and the techniques of cinema. The user can either read the complete document or search out a particular topic of interest. -- Related links within the Guide are provided as appropriate, as are links to film clips illustrating the topic or term in question.
The Margaret Herrick Library has created a new online collection of Production Code Administration files. "Full documentation from a selection of 500 film titles in the Motion Picture Association of America Production Code Administration records. Will Hays, as president of the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA) in 1930, introduced the Production Code, a document designed to help the industry regulate itself by following certain moral principles and guidelines. Hays chose Joseph Breen to oversee the administration of the Code in 1934. Under Breen, the studios were required to submit all screenplays for approval and all films released by MPPDA member companies were required to display a Code seal. In 1946, the organization changed its name to the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) and Hays was succeeded by Eric Johnston. The Production Code remained in force until 1968, when it was superseded by the MPAA ratings system, which is still in use today."
Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library's American Memory collections. Video clips can be downloaded or streamed from the website. Collections include Coca-Cola, New York City (1898-1906), Consumer Economy, America at Work (1894-1915), Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment (1870-1920).
"Black Film Archive celebrates the rich, abundant history of Black cinema. We are an evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1915 to 1979 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context."
Transcripts, audio and video of benshi film from the early 20th century. Cabinet of Caligari & Fall of the House of Usher.
Offers 12,000 free film clips from over 2,000 movies, all high-image-quality and sorted by actor, director, cinematographer, mood, prop, setting, composer, character type, and many more detailed options. The browse function works the best. Video clips can be embedded in webpages, facebook, twitter, and PowerPoint presentations for non-commercial purposes. This site provides easy, legal access to film clips.
Part of Archive.org. This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Source of free stock and editorial photos of moderate quality. Follow the instructions for Embedding an image, check the "Show image preview" box, and then copy the image.
The Western Silent Films Lobby Cards Collection consists of 106 printed items used to promote silent and western films; most of the materials in the collection date between 1910 and 1930. These lobby cards and publicity fliers include both photographic and artistic renderings of scenes and characters from the films being publicized, and often prominently display the names of actors and film studios.
222-05 56 Avenue, Bayside, New York 11364