Library Guides: Academic Literacy: Internet Evaluation & Resources

ESL (English as a Second Language)

American idioms - Learn American idioms
Click on an idiom for a sample paragraph providing a definition of the idiom and an illustration of how it is used.
American Slang - 24/7
Provides definitions, sample sentences, etymology, and synonyms.
Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
Basic rules of grammar, punctuation, capitalization, and writing numbers.
Elllo
Learn English naturally by listening to speakers from all over the world.
English Club
Dictation practice, monthly news digests, links to English language radio stations, strategies for increasing your daily exposure to English, and more.
English Listening Lounge
Listening passages arranged by difficulty level, topic, and domain (American, British, business, academic).
English Listening Resources (The English Page)
Links to listening resources for advanced English learners. Resources include free online news and culture broadcasts, music, movies, radio and more.
English Pronunciation Practice (For ESL Students)
Pronunciation exercises and quizzes from Interesting Things for ESL Students
English Vocabulary
Vocabulary building for advanced English language learners.
ESL Independent Study Lab
Contains over 250 of the best Internet resources for ESL students. Organization is by skill area and language level.
ESL/EFL Reading - 365 ESL/EFL Short Stories
Hundreds of stories and conversations for ESL learners to practice listening and speaking.
Focus on English: ESL Conversation Online
Listen to native speakers talk about various topics and practice responding to real-life conversations. Improve your conversational English skills.
Internet Picture Dictionary
Learn vocabulary by browsing through pictures arranged by subject category. Includes interactive learning activities.
Language Guide (Foreign Language Vocabulary, Grammar, and Readings)
Sound-integrated resources for 13 different languages (with a choice of 21 native language interfaces). Particularly helpful for vocabulary building and word pronunciation.
Perfect Pronunciation - Merriam-Webster's Learner's Dictionary
Pronunciation exercises from Merriam-Webster's Learner's Dictionary.
Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab - For English as a Second Language
Listening activities, organized by topic and level of difficulty, designed to help improved listening comprehension skills.
Sounds of English
Handouts, audio practice, and diagrams showing the shape of the mouth when making sounds.
Spelling (For ESL Students)
Spelling games and quizzes from Interesting Things for ESL Students
Talk English.com
Basic, intermediate, and advanced level listening practice.
TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) Practice Exam
Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) practice exams and review materials provided by Barron's Educational Series.
TOPICS Online Magazine for Learners of English
A place where people learning English can share stories, ideas and opinions, travel information, recipes, poetry, and more.
U.S.A. Learns
Practice activities in listening, writing, speaking, and life skills.
Vocabulary (The English Club)
Survival English, synonyms and antonyms, lists of useful words, figures of speech, idioms, and quotes.

Evaluating Web Resources

Criteria for evaluating web resources*

Authority: Who created the website content?

Objectivity: It is important to consider author's goals and objectives.

Accuracy: Check grammar and author's background.

Currency: What is the most recent date on the page?

Coverage: Is information presented in a way that makes sense?

* Source: Cornell University library website.

Evaluating Web Pages Tutorial

Criteria for Evaluating Web Resources

Criteria for Evaluating Web Resources

Academic Literacy / Basic Skills

12-Step Program for Academic Success
Designed for college students at all levels, this resource will help you make the most of your study time.
ACT Exam
Practice tests and review materials for the ACT exam provided by Barron's Educational Series
Assignment Calculator
This tool can help you determine how much time you have to complete various aspects of your research and writing, given your starting date and due date.
Basic Mathematics Skills
Provides a basic understanding of mathematics concepts and operations using a simple and clearly structured method.
Basic Mathematics videos (Kahn Academy)
Videos recorded by Salman Khan that covers everything from basic arithmetic, pre-algebra, and geometry to differential equations, and physics.
Educational Videos and Games about Science, Math, Social Studies and English (NeoK12)
A collection of educational videos from the internet for students at all grade levels.
Exams (4Tests.com)
Practice tests and review materials for numerous exams provided by Barron's Educational Series. Includes: ACT, GED, TOEFL, CLEP, SAT, civil service, microsoft, graduate, medical, and many more practice exams and tutorials.
Howtostudy.org
Chemetka Community College's resource page for study skills. Covers everything from procrastination to test anxiety. Includes a subject approach to studying.
Learning Strategies: Maximizing Your Academic Experience
Learning strategies for academic success.
Skillswise (BBC)
An excellent resource for basic math and English skills. (The website uses British spelling rules.)
more...less...
It includes factsheets, worksheets, quizzes, and games to help you improve your skills.
Study Guides and Strategies
Learning and study strategies.
more...less...
Includes: "Learning to learn," "Learning as an adult," "Learning with ADHD," "Active learning," "Action learning," "Language learning strategies," "Exploring your personal learning style," "Learning with others," "Collaborative learning," "Group projects," "Active Listening," "Studying," "Effective study habits,""Studying with multiple sources," "Finding the right study space," "Classroom learning," "Preparing for the classroom," "Class "prep"/paying attention,""Classroom discussions," "Taking notes in lectures," "Influencing teachers," "Online learning/communicating, "and more.
Study Skills (Mangrum-Strichart Learning Resources - How-to-Study.com)
Study tips and study skills articles written by Dr. Mangrum & Dr. Strichart.
Study Skills Help Page
Provides useful tips on everything from individual learning styles to note taking. From Middle Tennessee State University.
Study skills self help information
Study Skills: Seven Steps to More Effective Studying
Provides tips on learning and improving study skills, vocabulary, writing a research paper, and more.
Test Prep Review
Free online practice exams and preparation material including: ACT, CLEP, COMPASS, GED, and many more.
Daily Grammar Lessons Blog

Subject Guide

Vikki Terrile

Email Me

Contact:

718-281-5711

Subjects: Economics, Sociology

GED Preparation Resources

4Tests.com - Free, Practice GED Exam
Practice tests and review materials provided by Barron's Educational Series.
Contemporary's GED Mathematics
GED Practice Test.
GED Sample Questions
Sample test questions from the Official GED Practice Test™.
GED Test Practice
A resource created by Graduate Educational Information Service (GEIS), to help you understand the GED test and prepare for the exam.
GED Test Prep Review
Take the self assessment quizzes to find out where you need the most help.
Online GED Practice Tests
Practice tests in all five areas.
PBS LiteracyLink
Quality adult basic education, pre-GED, and GED preparation tools. You will need to create a username and password to make full use of the resources. Registration is free.
more...less...
LiteracyLink uses a combination of video, web, and print materials to meet the needs of individual learners.