Finding articles or images on art and design can sometimes present challenges as the information your looking for is often embedded. This page is designed to provide selected resources with direct access to images, criticisms, biographies, etc. Additionally, previewing a tutorials such as the Oxford Art Online is a helpful way to efficiently access the resources that you seek. A librarian is easily reached by email: firstname.lastname@example.org or stopping by the QCC Library.
Databases are organized collections of information, often grouped by a particular subject. Here you will find credible, authoritative information, much of which you will not find on Google.
When you first try using a database, it will be a different experience from searching on Google. Not to fear - databases are structured in a predictable way, and once you understand how, using databases will be as easy as "Googling it".
The video below, gives a good idea of how a database is structured, and how best to search.
If you cannot access the full text of an article you need in a database, click the link to request it via ILL. You may also request an article via WorldCat.
Articles/book chapters will be delivered to your ILL account as a PDF file to your TigerMail account. Please download the article within 30 days, as copyright restrictions may apply if we re-order the article.
To find popular and scholarly resources related to the Art & Design, the following databases provide access:
Looking for a specific electronic journal? Use the A-Z Journal list to search: