Library Guides: Linguistics: Databases/Articles

General and Article Databases

Library subscription databases are found by clicking on the Browse Databases icon on the library homepage.

These first databases are GENERAL DATABASES. Think of them as collections of online encyclopedias. They are a great place to start your research and get an understanding of the country/region you're researching.

eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window

These databases are ARTICLE DATABASES. They contain both popular and scholarly/academic articles.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I-IX, This link opens in a new window
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window

Definitions

To start our research we have to define some sociolinguistics terms. For this, we'll use a general database (e.g. Credo).

Sociolinguistics or in contrast (Sociolinguistics in GVRL)

Ethnolinguistics

Language Loyalty

Corpus Planning/Status Planning

Choosing and Searching with Keywords

Keywords Worksheet

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is a discovery tool for everything from books to popular magazines to peer-reviewed journals.

OneSearch searches the complete book catalog as well as MOST* of the library's databases.

Try OneSearch by simply going to the library homepage and start with some keywords in the OneSearch box.

*some specialized databases are not available through OneSearch