Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COUNIHAN-ENGL101-: Welcome!

This is a guide that was created for Professor Counihan for the ENGL 101 class, and to help you with your assignments.

Welcome!

This is a guide that was created for Professor Counihan for the ENGL 101 class, and to help you with your assignments. For this class, you will be studying poet laureate Amanda Gorman, and her role-models and influences. I will demonstrate how to access articles, newspapers, magazines, and books about Amanda Gorman. You will learn how to navigate the databases to find the most relevant and reliable information available about this important poet.

“There is always light. If only we're brave enough to see it...." Amanda Gorman

  • “For it's our grief that gives us our gratitude, Shows us how to find hope, if we ever lose it. ...
  • “The only approval you need is your own.”
  • “For while we have our eyes on the future, history has its eyes on us”

Library Databases

How to access databases from home

How do I activate my card for off-campus access to databases?
Update:  no Tigercard or barcode is required!

Answer
UPDATED!

QCC Library now provides access to the library databases using your CUNY Login (firstname.lastname##)* and your CUNY Login password.  This is the same password as your CUNY First. No Tigercard or library barcode is required!

You will be prompted to enter your CUNY Login in OneSearch when you click to open an article or ebook.

If you want to search a particular database in the A to Z, you will be prompted for your CUNY Login once you choose a database.

*the two digits are the last two numbers of your EMPLID

Media and Streaming Databases

TED-talk

How to Cite A Youtube Video

 

The general format for citing online videos in MLA style is as follows: "Title of video." YouTube, uploaded by Screen Name, day month year, www.youtube.com/xxxxx. If the author of the video is not the same as the person who uploaded the video, your citation would be formatted as follows: Author last name, First Name.

Using Library Databases

What is a library database?

  • Library databases contain information from published works.
    • Examples: Magazine and newspaper articles,encyclopedias and other reference books.
  • Library databases are searchable.
    • By Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine Title, Date, etc.
  • Library databases provide citation information.
    • Author, if available
    • Title of Article
    • Publication (Title of Magazine, Newspaper, or Reference Book)
    • Publisher
    • Date of Publication
  • Library databases often contain full-text articles.
    • You can print or email an entire article.
  • There are different kinds of library databases
    • For specific topics. Examples: Biography Resource Center , New Book of Popular Science
    • For general topics Examples: ProQuest, World Book Online
  • Library databases are paid for by taxpayer dollars.

 

How is a library database different from a website?

Library databases Web sites
Library databases get their information from professionals or experts in the field. Web sites can be written by anyone regardless of expertise.
Library databases contain published works where facts are checked. Web site content is not necessarily checked by an expert.
Library databases are easy to cite in a bibliography and may create the citation for you. Web sites often don’t provide the information necessary to create a complete citation.
Library databases can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects. Web sites often aren’t organized to support student research needs.
Library databases are updated frequently and include the date of publication. Web sites may not indicate when a page is updated.

 

Questions to ask about ANY information:

  • Currency: How recent is the information, and when was it last updated?
  • Organization: Is it easy to find the information you need?
  • Accuracy: How reliable is the information, and are the facts accurate?
  • Bibliography: How easy is the work to cite in a bibliography? Does it give you the author, title, publisher, and date?
  • Unfamiliar Topics: How useful is it when you don’t know where to start?
  • Languages: How easily can the work provide languages other than English?

Any source, whether a library database or website, can have good information. It is necessary to think critically about all information that you read or view.

Onesearch