Skip to main content

EN102 Prof. Tumino: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to Professor Tumino's En-102-Research and Library Resource Page

Here you will find ways to access databases, find books, and find internet sources.

---Prof. William Blick

Books

There are several options for searching for print and electronic books using the following options:

QCC Library Catalog Quick Search -

Search the QCC/CUNY+ catalog

go to catalog | advanced search | my account/renew

Search the CUNY+ Online Catalog to find books, multimedia materials, and other resources.

CLICS - CUNY  Libraries Intra Campus Delivery Services (CLICS) allows CUNY students, faculty and staff to request circulating books and cd’s from the collections of other CUNY libraries. These deliveries will be taken to the QCC Library per your request. 

Interlibrary Loan - Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service whereby QCC students, faculty, and staff may obtain library materials that are not owned by the Kurt R. Schmeller Library or at any other CUNY library.

Worldcat - World catalog (Worldcat) is an international catalog that QCC students, faculty, and staff to search for any book and identify its location in any library in the world.

eBrary - A large collection of ebooks that you can access online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Databases

Databases: Below are links to databases you may find useful in your studies.

Perils of online research

Plagiarism

Academic Search Complete

This is a beginning tutorial of Academic Search Complete.

LexisNexis

This is a beginner's guide to LexisNexis Database.

Evaluating Web Resources

   Criteria for evaluating web resources*

 

       Authority: Who created the website content? 

    Objectivity: It is important to consider author's goals and objectives.

    Accuracy: Check grammar and author's background.

    Currency: What is the most recent date on the page?

    Coverage: Is information presented in a way that makes sense?

* Source: Cornell University library website. 

MLA citation

 Please refer to this page to learn more information about MLA style citation and plagiarism.

MLA citation