Library Guides: Speech Communications Resources-Updated: Databases

Subject Specific Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Theme related information on various social issue topics as Education, Energy, Health, Human Rights, to name a few. Provides an overview of the topic, maps, pro/con statements (opposing positions), etc.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints provides information about contemporary social issues, some controversial. It features full text articles, topic overviews, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
To find speeches in this databases, select speech under the document type drop down box.
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
To search for speeches, use the menu box for document type and select "speech"
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I-IX, This link opens in a new window
Full text of over two hundred and fifty journals in the social sciences, arts and humanities and life sciences. Journal coverage begins with the first issue of each journal but the most recently published issues (the last 3 to 5 years) are generally not available. Through 2011 there is also access to JSTOR Plant Science.
New York Times - Historical Newspapers (1851-2014 / Searchable Database) This link opens in a new window
This searchable database contains full-text articles from The New York Times that are available from 1851 to 2014.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, from Johns Hopkins University Press, other university presses, and scholarly organizations.

E-Journal Finders

Looking for a specific electronic journal? Use the A-Z Journal list to search by

Browse e-journals

Articles via Interlibrary Loan

If you cannot access the full text of an article you need in a database, click the link to request it via ILL. You may also request an article via WorldCat.

Articles/book chapters will be delivered to your ILL account as a PDF file. Please download the article within 30 days, as copyright restrictions may apply if we re-order the article.