Skip to main content

English and Literature Research: Home

Ask a Librarian

Chat loading...

All About Books

One of our central goals is to foster reading.  Many good books are available in our Circulating (3rd floor) and Leisure Reading(2nd floor) collections, as well as among our New Books (2nd floor). The call number for Literature begins with the letter "P" in the Library of Congress cataloguing system, which we use.

Enjoy some interesting discussion of current literature at the Web Site below:

return to home

Loading

Oxford English Dictionary

Reference PE1625 .O87 1989

We have this excellent resource in both print and electronic formats.  for print find the call number in the Reference collection on the second floor.  For online access click on the link below.

Queenszine

For creative writing by QCC students look at the publication QUEENSZINE.

Welcome

Hi,

Welcome to the English and Literature Libguide.   Here at your QCC Library, this Guide will help you to find books and other sources of information in order to promote your enjoyment of literature, as well as sharpen your research skills.  Remember we are here to help you and are always ready to provide assistance online, by telephone or in person at the Reference Desk. You may contact me for help via the email or phone number on the right of the page.

 

By clicking on the tabs at the top of the page, you can learn:

1. how to find paper and electronic books, as well as glean information from books;

2. how to locate and access appropriate licensed electronic articles online from journals, magazines newspapers and reference works

3. how to locate reliable internet sources, as well as evaluate their validity

4. how to cite your sources.

The last tab will guide you through a sample search for literary criticism and biographical and historical background.

Shakespeare

 William Shakespeare is considered the greatest English writer who ever lived.  We have resources for his study and appreciation in circulating books, reference books and online resources.  The circulating books, which may be checked out, are located on the third floor and include texts of the plays and poetry with appropriate commentary, biographical studies, analyses and criticism of particular works, and explanations of historical background and plot origins.  Our reference books, located on the second floor, are equally comprehensive, including Shakespearean Criticism and Shakespeare for Students.  Our online databases may be used by QCC students, faculty and staff and require an activated CUNY ID number for off-campus accesss. Some of the most useful for Shakespearean studies are:

 Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Literature and Literary CriticismThis is a collection of e-books on U.S. and world literature and literary criticism. It includes biographies, bio-bibliographies, critical companions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, histories, sourcebooks, and other reference works.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)This resource contains scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. It contains an extensive compilation of literary commentary on literature, history and culture.
Literature Resources from Gale

This database allows the user to research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

 Another excellent database that is a bit more difficult is JSTOR  Full text of over two hundred and fifty journals in the social sciences, arts and humanities and life sciences. Journal coverage begins with the first issue of each journal but the most recently published issues (the last 3 to 5 years) are generally not available.

Check the videos below for some important speeches by Shakespeare:

 

Hamlet

For a discussion of the play, Hamlet, click below:

Shakespeare Reference Books

For Students -- Online Literature Resources

 These excellent resources are available at the reference desk in print. 

 Please consult a librarian                                  

 Novels for Students   PN3385 .N68

Short Stories for Students  PN3373 .S3844

Drama fpr Students   PN1601 .D595

  Poetry for Students PN1101 .P64

 

These books are also accessible online.  Click on the link below. 

 

Poetry

You will find excellent poetry in the QCC Library:

PN6101 .E87 2009

Poetry Reading

Students at Queensborough Community College Poetry Reading.

Poetry Site