This is the "Linking to Items in Databases" page of the "Search Tips for Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Search Tips for Faculty  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2013 URL: http://qcc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=429614 Print Guide Email Alerts

Linking to Items in Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Linking to Items in Databases

Many of our databases enable faculty to share links to specific articles or resources with their students (in Blackboard, email, etc.). This can be of great use to faculty who find an article or ebook they wish to share with their students.  Here is a list of the most popular vendors/databases and how to share the links. These will work off-campus with an activated ID card. If the database you're interested in is not listed, you have any questions, or run into any problems, contact the Library or your liaison Librarian.

Alexander Street Press products: click on Embed / Link to obtain the url.

DSM-IV and StatRef!: Open the article or chapter, and click on Get a Link.

eBrary: Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of the browser.  You can take the url from your search results, from a folder, or from a specific book.  You cannot get a link that goes smaller (further detailed) than a specific book

EBSCO article databases: Open the article, and on the right side of the screen click on Permalink and copy the whole url that appears.

EBSCO ebooks: Open the book and on the right side of the screen click on the "chain link" icon and copy the whole url that appears

eBrary: Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of the browser.  You can take the url from your search results, from a folder, or from a specific book.  You cannot get a link that goes smaller (further detailed) than a specific book

Gale products: Open the HTML version of the article or chapter and use the Document URL located at the bottom (this is a long url and you need to use the entire url).  The only exception is Gale Virtual Reference Library, where you click on the word BOOKMARK at the top of the page you want to share (whether a book section, a search result, or any other page within the database). The proxy prefix is http://qbcc.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/login?url=  After the = (equal sign), without a space, put the URL you get from clicking BOOKMARK.

JSTOR: Open the article by clicking on the title and use the article's stable URL.  You will need to add the proxy prefix to the url for this to work from off-campus.  The proxy prefix is http://qbcc.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/login?url=     After the = (equal sign), without a space, put the article's stable URL

LexisNexis: Open the article by clicking on the title.  In the upper right, among the icons, you will see a clipboard with a chain link on it.  Click on this to get the url.  The proxy prefix is http://qbcc.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/login?url=  After the = (equal sign), without a space, put the article's persistent, or stable, URL.  For additional information, you may view http://wiki.lexisnexis.com/academic/index.php?title=Permalink_Icon

Project Muse: Use the URL from the address bar at the top of the browser.  You will need to add the proxy prefix to the url for this to work from off-campus.  The proxy prefix is http://qbcc.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/login?url=     After the = (equal sign), without a space, put the URL from the address bar at the top of the browser.

ProQuest products: Use the Document URL at the bottom of the HTML or Abstract view of the article.

 

 

Ask a Librarian

Email: askref@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone A Librarian: 718-631-6241
Tweet A Librarian: @qcclibrary
In-Person: 2nd or 3rd Floor Reference Desk in the Library

New Chat/Text Hours: 
Mon - Thurs 
from 10 am - 3pm and
from 9 - 11pm | Sunday 7 - 11pm 
TEXT us:
     Gtalk: askarefqcc1
    Text a Librarian: 718-701-8021
Or TYPE in the box below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip